MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE LOUIS RIEL SCHOOL BOARD Tuesday, September 13, 2011 (7:30 PM)

The Annual Meeting of the Louis Riel School Board was called to order by the Secretary-Treasurer.

ROLL CALL

UPON THE ROLL BEING CALLED, THE FOLLOWING WERE PRESENT:

BOARD MEMBERS:

Hugh Coburn	Trustee
Mike Ducharme	Trustee
Gary Gervais	Trustee
Louise Johnston	Trustee
Sandy Nemeth	Trustee
Tom Parker	Trustee
Dave Richardson	Trustee
Wayne Ruff	Trustee
Chris Sigurdson	Trustee

ALSO IN ATTENDANCE:

Terry D. Borys Superintendent of Schools & CE

Brad Fulton Secretary-Treasurer

Lisa Aitken Director of Human Resources
Pat Burgoyne Assistant Superintendent
Linda Chernenkoff Assistant Superintendent
Neill Johnson Assistant Superintendent
Christian Michalik Assistant Superintendent

Tim Watters Director of School and Community Support

Pat Trottier Board Recording Secretary

MEETING NO. 17

A. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 7:30 p.m.

The Secretary-Treasurer presided until the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson were elected.

Chairperson of the Board for 2011-2012

Trustee (Hugh Coburn) and Trustee (Tom Parker) nominated Trustee Gary Gervais. The Secretary-Treasurer called for other nominations. There were none.

Trustee Gary Gervais was declared Chairperson of the Board for 2011-2012.

Vice-Chairperson of the Board for 2011-2012

Trustee (Louise Johnston) and Trustee (Wayne Ruff) nominated Trustee Hugh Coburn.

The Secretary-Treasurer called for other nominations. There were none.

Trustee Hugh Coburn was declared Vice-Chairperson of the Board for 2011-2012.

At this point in the meeting, Trustee Gary Gervais assumed the Chair.

PROCEDURAL BY-LAWS

524/2011 THAT the Procedural By-laws be accepted as presented.

Trustee (Dave Richardson) Moved, Trustee (Chris Sigurdson) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

COMMITTEE STRUCTURE

525/2011 THAT the following Standing Committees be approved for the 2011-2012 school year.

- a) Building, Maintenance & Transportation
- b) Education
- c) Finance and Audit
- d) Negotiations Teaching Staff
- e) Negotiations Non-Teaching Staff
- f) Policv
- g) Trustee Professional Development

Trustee (Hugh Coburn) Moved, Trustee (Sandy Nemeth) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

STANDING COMMITTEES – ELECTION OF CHAIRPERON AND MEMBER(S)

526/2011 THAT Dave Richardson be the Chairperson and Trustee Louise Johnston be a member of the Building, Maintenance and Transportation Committee.

Trustee (Sandy Nemeth) Moved, Trustee (Tom Parker) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

527/2011 THAT Trustee Chris Sigurdson be the Chairperson and Trustee Tom Parker and Trustee Dave Richardson be members of the Education Committee.

Trustee (Louise Johnston) Moved, Trustee (Wayne Ruff) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

THAT Trustee Tom Parker be the Chairperson and Trustee Sandy Nemeth and Trustee Wayne Ruff be members of the Finance and Audit Committee.

Trustee (Chris Sigurdson) Moved, Trustee (Hugh Coburn) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

529/2011 THAT Trustee Hugh Coburn be the Chairperson and Trustee Tom Parker be a member of the Negotiations – Teaching Staff Committee.

Trustee (Chris Sigurdson) Moved, Trustee (Louise Johnston) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

530/2011 THAT Trustee Wayne Ruff be the Chairperson and Trustee Louise Johnston be a member of the Negotiations – Non-Teaching Staff Committee.

Trustee (Tom Parker) Moved, Trustee (Hugh Coburn) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

THAT Trustee Sandy Nemeth be the Chairperson and Trustee Chris Sigurdson be a member of the Policy Committee.

Trustee (Dave Richardson) Moved, Trustee (Louise Johnston) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

THAT Trustee Louise Johnston be the Chairperson and Trustee Dave Richardson be a member of the Trustee Professional Development Committee.

Trustee (Wayne Ruff) Moved, Trustee (Tom Parker) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

STANDING COMMITTEES - TERMS OF REFERENCE

THAT the Terms of Reference for the Standing Committees be adopted as presented. Trustee (Tom Parker) Moved, Trustee (Chris Sigurdson) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

OTHER COMMITTEES

THAT Trustee Sandy Nemeth be the Chairperson and Trustee Chris Sigurdson be a member of the Non-Teaching Liaison Committee.

Trustee (Wayne Ruff) Moved, Trustee (Dave Richardson) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

535/2011 THAT Trustee Chris Sigurdson be the Chairperson and Trustee Wayne Ruff be a member of the Teaching Liaison Committee.

Trustee (Sandy Nemeth) Moved, Trustee (Dave Richardson) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

THAT Trustee Dave Richardson be the Chairperson and Trustee Louise Johnston be a member of the Staff Recognition Committee.

Trustee (Chris Sigurdson) Moved, Trustee (Sandy Nemeth) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

SIGNING OFFICERS

537/2011 THAT the Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson of the Board and the Secretary-Treasurer be appointed signing officers.

Trustee (Dave Richardson) Moved, Trustee (Sandy Nemeth) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

MEETING DATES

THAT the regular Board meetings be held on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 7:30 PM.

Trustee (Sandy Nemeth) Moved, Trustee (Hugh Coburn) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

ELECTR	ONIC	AGENDA	DELIVER	Υ
---------------	------	---------------	---------	---

THAT the agenda be published electronically at least three days prior to the Regular Board Meeting.

Trustee (Tom Parker) Moved, Trustee (Wayne Ruff) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

ADJOURNMENT OF MEETING

540/2011 THAT the Annual Meeting be adjourned.

Trustee (Chris Sigurdson) Moved, Trustee (Dave Richardson) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

T. A. J.A: 1: 1.7.20.014		
The Annual Meeting adjourned at 7:39 PM		
 Chairperson	Secretary-Treasurer	