

# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE LOUIS RIEL SCHOOL BOARD 900 St. Mary's Road, Winnipeg Tuesday, September 5, 2017 (6:30 PM)

The Annual Meeting of the Louis Riel School Board was called to order by the Acting Secretary-Treasurer, Marna Kenny.

#### **ROLL CALL**

UPON THE ROLL BEING CALLED, THE FOLLOWING WERE PRESENT:

#### **BOARD MEMBERS:**

Hugh Coburn Trustee Louise Johnston Trustee Josie Landry Trustee Sandy Nemeth Trustee **Robert Page** Trustee Tom Parker Trustee Dave Richardson Trustee Chris Sigurdson Trustee

#### **ALSO IN ATTENDANCE:**

Duane Brothers Superintendent of Schools Lisa Aitken **Assistant Superintendent** Marna Kenny Acting Secretary-Treasurer Deneen Madden **Board Recording Secretary** Christian Michalik **Assistant Superintendent** Marlene Murray **Assistant Superintendent** Irene Nordheim **Assistant Superintendent** Administrative Assistant Susan Potter

**REGRETS:** Cindy Turner Trustee

Brad Fulton Secretary-Treasurer

## **CALL TO ORDER**

The meeting was called to order at 6:35 p.m.

The Acting Secretary-Treasurer explained the process for the Annual Meeting.

The Acting Secretary-Treasurer presided until the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson were elected.

## Chairperson of the Board for 2017-2018

Trustee (Hugh Coburn) and Trustee (Dave Richardson) nominated Trustee Chris Sigurdson. The Secretary-Treasurer called for other nominations. There were none.

Trustee Chris Sigurdson was declared Chairperson of the Board for 2017-2018.

# Vice-Chairperson of the Board for 2017-2018

Trustee (Robert Page) and Trustee (Tom Parker) nominated Trustee Sandy Nemeth.

The Secretary-Treasurer called for other nominations. There were none.

# Trustee Sandy Nemeth was declared Vice-Chairperson of the Board for 2017-2018.

At this point in the meeting, Trustee Chris Sigurdson presides as Chairperson.

#### **PROCEDURAL BY-LAWS**

2017-001 THAT the Procedural By-laws be accepted as presented.

Trustee (Dave Richardson) Moved, Trustee (Robert Page) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

#### **COMMITTEE STRUCTURE**

2017-002 THAT the following Standing Committees be approved for the 2017-2018 school year.

- a) Community Connections
- b) Finance and Audit
- c) Negotiations

Trustee (Louise Johnston) Moved, Trustee (Tom Parker) Seconded to approve the motion.

**CARRIED** 

## STANDING COMMITTEES - ELECTION OF CHAIRPERON AND MEMBER(S)

2017-003 THAT Trustee Louise Johnston be the Chairperson and Trustees Tom Parker, Josie Landry and Robert Page be members of the Community Connections Committee.

Trustee (Louise Johnston) Moved, Trustee (Hugh Coburn) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

2017-004 THAT Trustee Tom Parker be the Chairperson and Trustees Dave Richardson, Cindy Turner, and Robert Page be members of the Finance and Audit Committee.

Trustee (Tom Parker) Moved, Trustee (Josie Landry) Seconded to approve the motion.

**CARRIED** 

2017-005 THAT Trustee Josie Landry be the Chairperson and Trustees Hugh Coburn and Louise Johnston be members of the Negotiations Committee.

Trustee (Tom Parker) Moved, Trustee (Robert Page) Seconded to approve the motion.

**CARRIED** 

# LIAISON TO THE RIEL-EVATE COMMUNITY FOUNDATION

2017-006 THAT Trustee Hugh Coburn be the Co-Chair and Trustee Dave Richardson be a member of the RIEL-EVATE Community Foundation.

Trustee (Louise Johnston) Moved and Trustee (Dave Richardson) Seconded to approve the motion.

**CARRIED** 

#### **SIGNING OFFICERS**

2017-007 THAT the Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson of the Board and the Secretary-Treasurer be appointed signing officers.

Trustee (Louise Johnston) Moved, Trustee (Tom Parker) Seconded to approve the motion.

**CARRIED** 

#### **MEETING DATES**

2017-008

THAT the regular Board meetings be held on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 6:30 PM, except for January 9<sup>th</sup> and January 23<sup>rd</sup>, 2018.

Trustee (Louise Johnston) Moved, Trustee (Josie Landry) Seconded to approve the motion.

**CARRIED** 

## **ELECTRONIC AGENDA DELIVERY**

2017-009

THAT the agenda be published for members of the LRSD Board electronically at least three days prior to the Regular Board Meeting.

Trustee (Dave Richardson) Moved, Trustee (Robert Page) Seconded to approve the motion.

**CARRIED** 

# **ADJOURNMENT OF MEETING**

2017-010 THAT the Annual Meeting be adjourned.

Trustee (Tom Parker) Moved, Trustee (Robert Page) Seconded to approve the motion.

**CARRIED** 

The Annual Meeting adjourned at 6:55 PM

"originals signed by C. Sigurdson"	"originals signed by M. Kenny"
Chairperson	Secretary-Treasurer