

MINUTES OF THE INAUGRUAL MEETING OF THE LOUIS RIEL SCHOOL BOARD 900 St. Mary's Road, Winnipeg Tuesday, November 6, 2018 (6:30 PM)

The Meeting of the Louis Riel School Board was called to order by the Secretary-Treasurer, Marna Kenny.

ROLL CALL

UPON THE ROLL BEING CALLED, THE FOLLOWING WERE PRESENT

BOARD MEMBERS: Louise Johnston Trustee

Pam Kolochuk Trustee Josie Landry Trustee Sandy Nemeth Trustee **Robert Page** Trustee Tom Parker Trustee Chris Sigurdson Trustee Cindy Turner Trustee Neil Vadeboncoeur Trustee

ALSO IN ATTENDANCE: Christian Michalik Acting Superintendent

Marna Kenny Secretary-Treasurer
Lisa Aitken Assistant Superintendent

Clarke Hagan Director of Information Systems
Jennifer Hume Assistant Secretary-Treasurer

Deneen Madden Executive Assistant

Deneen Madden Executive Assistant

Marlene Murray Assistant Superintendent Irene Nordheim Assistant Superintendent

Henri Peloguin Acting Assistant Superintendent

Susan Potter Executive Assistant

REGRETS:

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 6:45 PM.

1.1 Oath of Office

The Secretary-Treasurer explained the process for the Inaugural Meeting. Each community member elected during the civic election last October 24, 2018 took the Oath of Office, agreeing to faithfully and impartially, and to the best of their ability and knowledge, perform and fulfill the duties of the Office of School Trustee of the Louis Riel School Division so long as they shall continue to hold that office without fear or favour. The Trustees signed the Oath before the Secretary-Treasurer and received the congratulations of those in attendance upon becoming School Trustees for the period of November 2018 to November 2022.

The Secretary-Treasurer presided until the Chair and Vice-Chair were elected.

ELECT CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR OF THE BOARD

2.1 Chair for 2018-2019

Trustee (Cindy Turner) and Trustee (Tom Parker) nominated Trustee Sandy Nemeth.

The Secretary-Treasurer called for other nominations. There were none.

Trustee Sandy Nemeth was declared Chair of the Board for 2018-2019.

2.2 Vice-Chair for 2018-2019

Trustee (Josie Landry) and Trustee (Robert Page) nominated Trustee Louise Johnston.

The Secretary-Treasurer called for other nominations. There were none.

Trustee Louise Johnston was declared Vice-Chair of the Board for 2018-2019.

At this point in the meeting, Trustee Sandy Nemeth assumed the Chair for the conduct of the remainder of the meeting.

3.1 PROCEDURAL BY-LAWS

2018-019 THAT the Procedural By-Laws be accepted as presented.

Trustee (Robert Page) Moved, Trustee (Pamela Kolochuk) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

4.1 COMMITTEE STRUCTURE

2018-020 THAT the following Standing Committees be approved for the 2018-2019 school year.

- a. Community Connections
- b. Finance and Audit
- c. Negotiations

Trustee (Neil Vadeboncoeur) Moved, Trustee (Tom Parker) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

5.1 ESTABLISHMENT OF AD-HOC BY-LAW REVIEW COMMITTEE

2018-021 THAT the establishment of an Ad-Hoc By-Law Review Committee be approved for the 2018-2019 school year.

Trustee (Chris Sigurdson) Moved, Trustee (Cindy Turner) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

STANDING COMMITTEES – ELECTIONS

6.1 Community Connections Committee – Chair and Members

2018-022 THAT Trustee Josie Landry be the Chair and Trustees Tom Parker, Neil Vadeboncoeur, Pamela Kolochuk be members of the Community Connections Committee for the 2018 - 2019 school year.

Trustee (Chris Sigurdson) Moved, Trustee (Robert Page) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

6.2 Finance and Audit Committee - Chair and Members

2018-023 THAT Trustee Pamela Kolochuk be the Chair and Trustees Tom Parker, Robert Page and Neil Vadeboncoeur be members of the Finance and Audit Committee for the 2018 -

2019 school year.

Trustee (Louise Johnston) Moved, Trustee (Josie Landry) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

6.3 Community Connections Committee – Chair and Members

2018-024 THAT Trustee Tom Parker be the Chair and Trustees Josie Landry and Chris Sigurdson be members of the Negotiations Committee for the 2018 - 2019 school year.

Trustee (Cindy Turner) Moved, Trustee (Robert Page) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

AD-HOC BY-LAW REVIEW COMMITTEE - ELECTION

7.1 Ad-Hoc By-Law Review Committee - Members

2018-025 THAT Trustees Cindy Turner, Neil Vadeboncoeur, Louise Johnston and Josie Landry be members of the Ad-Hoc By-Law Review Committee for the 2018-2019 school year.

Trustee (Pamela Kolochuk) Moved, Trustee (Robert Page) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

RIEL-EVATE FOUNDATION COMMITTEE - ELECTION

8.1 RIEL-EVATE Foundation Committee - Election of Co-Chair and Member from the LRSD Board

2018-026 THAT Trustee Chris Sigurdson be the Co-Chair from the School Board and Trustee Cindy
Turner be a member of the RIEL-EVATE Foundation Committee from the School Board

for the 2018 - 2019 school year.

Trustee (Neil Vadeboncoeur) Moved, Trustee (Louise Johnston) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

9.1 SIGNING OFFICERS

2018-027 THAT the Chair, Vice-Chair of the Board and the Secretary-Treasurer be appointed signing officers.

Trustee (Josie Landry) Moved, Trustee (Pamela Kolochuk) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

MEETING DATE AND TIME

10.1 Regular Board Meeting Dates 2018-2019

2018-028 THAT the regular Board meetings be held on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 6:30 PM.

Trustee (Pamela Kolochuk) Moved, Trustee (Tom Parker) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

11.1 ELECTRONIC PUBLISHING OF AGENDA

2018-029 THAT the agenda be published electronically on the Louis Riel School Division website at least three days prior to the Regular Board Meeting.

Trustee (Pamela Kolochuk) Moved, Trustee (Tom Parker) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

12	1	ΛГ	١ſ	\cap	11	P	٨	16	V	ш	F١	N٦	Гί	n		Λ	Л	F	E.	TI	N	1	G
12		нь	JJ	u	u	\mathbf{r}		41	v			v		_	_	ı١	"	_	_		ш	١Ь	ч

2018-030 THAT the Inaugural Meeting of November 6, 2018 be adjourned. Trustee (*Neil Vadeboncoeur*) Moved, Trustee (*Josie Landry*) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

The Inaugural Meeting adjourned at 7:04 PM.	
"originals signed by S. Nemeth"	"originals signed by M. Kenny"
Chair of the Board	Secretary-Treasurer