

MINUTES OF THE

ANNUAL MEETING OF THE LOUIS RIEL SCHOOL DIVISION BOARD OF TRUSTEES

September 1, 2020, 6:30 P.M. 900 St. Mary's Road, Winnipeg In-Person and Online Hybrid Meeting

BOARD MEMBERS: Louise Johnston, Trustee

Pamela Kolochuk, Trustee Josie Landry, Trustee Sandy Nemeth, Trustee Robert Page, Trustee Tom Parker, Trustee Chris Sigurdson, Trustee Cindy Turner, Trustee

Neil Vadeboncoeur, Trustee

ALSO IN ATTENDANCE: Christian Michalik, Superintendent

Marna Kenny, Secretary-Treasurer Lisa Aitken, Assistant Superintendent Jeff Anderson, Divisional Principal

Amarbeer Bhandari, Director of Facilities, Maintenance and Transportation

Darcy Cormack, Divisional Principal

Clarke Hagan, Director of Information Systems Jennifer Hume, Assistant Secretary-Treasurer

Steve Lawrie, Director of Student and Clinical Services

Tim MacKay, Director of EAL and ISP Deneen Madden, Executive Assistant Lexi Muise, Administrative Assistant

Marlene Murray, Assistant Superintendent Henri Péloquin, Assistant Superintendent

1. CALL TO ORDER

The September 1 Annual Meeting of the Louis Riel School Division Board of Trustees was called to order by Sandy Nemeth, Chair, Louis Riel School Board at 6:37 P.M.

2. BOARD MEMBERS' CODE OF CONDUCT AND DECLARATIONS

Secretary-Treasurer Kenny explained the process for the Annual Meeting. The Secretary-Treasurer presided until the Chair and Vice-Chair were elected.

In accordance with our procedural bylaws, all board members read and signed the following documents:

- a) School Board's Annual Code of Conduct/Conflict of Interest
- b) Board Members' Annual Oath of Confidentiality
- c) Board Members' Annual Declaration of Residency

3. ELECT CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR OF THE BOARD

3.1 Chair for 2020-2021

2020-001

Moved by Trustee Parker Seconded by Trustee Sigurdson

THAT Trustee Louise Johnston be declared Chair of the Board for the 2020-2021 school year.

Carried

3.2 Vice-Chair for 2020-2021

2020-002

Moved by Trustee Sigurdson Seconded by Trustee Nemeth

THAT Trustee Pamela Kolochuk be declared Vice-Chair of the Board for the 2020-2021 school year.

Carried

At this point in the meeting, the Chair presented Trustee Nemeth with a token of appreciation and had the following to say, "This evening I would like to acknowledge the hard work and passion that Sandy Nemeth brought to the role of Chair of our Board for the last two years! Sandy truly gave 110 percent of her time! She challenged our thinking and caused healthy debate. Sandy constantly strives to learn and grow. It is always clear that Sandy is a Louis Riel School Division champion and advocate!

As we pass the gavel this evening, I would like to present a memento of this occasion from the whole Board to Sandy! "

4. PROCEDURAL BYLAWS

2020-003

Moved by Trustee Landry Seconded by Trustee Kolochuk

THAT the Procedural Bylaws be accepted as presented.

Carried

5. COMMITTEE STRUCTURE

2020-004

Moved by Trustee Parker Seconded by Trustee Sigurdson

THAT the following Standing Committees be approved for the 2020-2021 school year:

- 1. Community Engagement
- 2. Finance and Audit
- 3. Negotiations

Carried

6. STANDING COMMITTEES - ELECTION

6.1 Community Engagement Committee - Chair and Members

2020-005

Moved by Trustee Parker Seconded by Trustee Landry

THAT Trustee Sandy Nemeth be the Chair and Trustees Pamela Kolochuk, Chris Sigurdson and Cindy Turner be members of the Community Engagement Committee for the 2020-2021 school year.

Carried

6.2 Finance and Audit Committee - Chair and Members

2020-006

Moved by Trustee Nemeth Seconded by Trustee Kolochuk

THAT Trustee Neil Vadeboncoeur be the Chair and Trustees Robert Page and Josie Landry be members of the Finance and Audit Committee for the 2020-2021 school year.

Carried

6.3 Negotiations Committee

2020-007

Moved by Trustee Kolochuk Seconded by Trustee Sigurdson

THAT Trustee Tom Parker be the Chair and Trustee Cindy Turner, with Sandy Nemeth as an alternative when Trustee Turner is not available, be a member of the Negotiations Committee for the 2020-2021 school year.

Carried

7. CONTINUING COMMITTEES

7.1 RIEL-EVATE Foundation Committee - Chair and Members

2020-008

Moved by Trustee Kolochuk Seconded by Trustee Landry

THAT Trustee Sandy Nemeth be the Chair and Trustee Tom Parker be a member of the RIEL-EVATE Foundation Committee for the 2020-2021 school year.

Carried

8. SIGNING OFFICERS

2020-009

Moved by Trustee Parker Seconded by Trustee Landry

THAT the signing officers for the Board be the Chair or Vice-Chair of the Board and the Secretary-Treasurer or the Superintendent.

Carried

9. MEETING DATE AND TIME

2020-010

Moved by Trustee Kolochuk

Seconded by Trustee Vadeboncoeur

THAT the regular board meetings be held on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 6:30 P.M.

Carried

10. ELECT	RONIC PUBLISHING	OF AGENDA
-----------	------------------	------------------

2020-011 Moved by Trustee Landry Seconded by Trustee Nemeth

THAT the agenda be published electronically on the Louis Riel School Division website at least three days prior to the regular board meeting.

Carried

11. ADJOURNMENT OF MEETING

The September 1 Annual Meeting adjourned at 7:00 P.M.

"original signed by L. Johnston"	"original signed by M. Kenny"	
Chair	Secretary-Treasurer	