MINUTES OF THE INAUGURAL MEETING OF THE LOUIS RIEL SCHOOL BOARD Tuesday, September 8, 2015 (7:00 PM)

The Inaugural Meeting of the Louis Riel School Board was called to order by the Secretary-Treasurer.

ROLL CALL

UPON THE ROLL BEING CALLED, THE FOLLOWING WERE PRESENT:

BOARD MEMBERS:

Hugh Coburn	Trustee
Louise Johnston	Trustee
Josie Landry	Trustee
Colleen Mayer	Trustee
Sandy Nemeth	Trustee
Tom Parker	Trustee
Dave Richardson	Trustee
Chris Sigurdson	Trustee
Cindy Turner	Trustee

ALSO IN ATTENDANCE:

Duane Brothers	Superintendent of Schools
Brad Fulton	Secretary-Treasurer
Lisa Aitken	Assistant Superintendent
Clarke Hagan	Director of Information Systems
Steve Lawrie	Director of Student and Clinical Services
Marna Kenny	Assistant Secretary-Treasurer
Christian Michalik	Assistant Superintendent
Marlene Murray	Assistant Superintendent
Irene Nordheim	Assistant Superintendent
Pat Trottier	Board Recording Secretary

A. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 7:04 p.m.

The Secretary-Treasurer explained the process for the Inaugural Meeting.

The Secretary-Treasurer presided until the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson were elected.

Chairperson of the Board for 2015-2016

Trustee (Colleen Mayer) and Trustee (Cindy Turner) nominated Trustee Louise Johnston. The Secretary-Treasurer called for other nominations. There were none.

Trustee Louise Johnston was declared Chairperson of the Board for 2015-2016.

Vice-Chairperson of the Board for 2015-2016

Trustee (Josie Landry) and Trustee (Tom Parker) nominated Trustee Chris Sigurdson. The Secretary-Treasurer called for other nominations. There were none.

Trustee Chris Sigurdson was declared Vice-Chairperson of the Board for 2015-2016.

At this point in the meeting, Trustee Louise Johnston assumed as Chairperson.

As per our Governance process - policy GP 1.6 each Trustees will sign both Code of Conduct/Conflict of Interest and Performance Declaration and the Oath of Confidentially. The School Board commits itself and its members to ethical, businesslike and lawful conduct, including proper use of authority and decorum when acting as School Board members.

PROCEDURAL BY-LAWS

225/2015 THAT the Procedural By-laws be accepted as presented. *Trustee (Colleen Mayer) Moved, Trustee (Sandy Nemeth) Seconded to approve the motion.*

CARRIED

COMMITTEE STRUCTURE

226/2015

- THAT the following Standing Committees be approved for the 2015-2016 school year.
- a) Community Connections
- b) Finance and Audit
- c) LRSD Foundation
- d) Negotiations

Trustee (Cindy Turner) Moved, Trustee (Tom Parker) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

ESTABLISHMENT OF ADHOC LRSD FOUNDATION

227/2015 THAT the establishment of an AdHoc École Sage Creek School be approved for the 2015-2016 school year, and;

THAT Trustee Hugh Coburn be the Chairperson and Trustee Tom Parker be a member of the AdHoc École Sage Creek School.

Trustee (Colleen Mayer) Moved, Trustee (Chris Sigurdson) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

STANDING COMMITTEES - ELECTION OF CHAIRPERON AND MEMBER(S)

228/2015THAT Trustee Sandy Nemeth be the Chairperson and Trustees Tom Parker, Josie Landry,
and Colleen Mayer be members of the Community Connections Committee.

Trustee (Cindy Turner) Moved, Trustee (Dave Richardson) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

229/2015 THAT Trustee Hugh Coburn be the Chairperson and Trustees Cindy Turner, Dave Richardson, Louise Johnston, and Chris Sigurdson be members of the LRSD Foundation. *Trustee (Collen Mayer) Moved and Trustee (Josie Landry) Seconded to approve the motion.*

CARRIED

230/2015 Trustee (Chris S	THAT Trustee Tom Parker be the Chairperson and Trustees Sandy Nemeth, Cinc and Dave Richardson be members of the Finance and Audit Committee. Sigurdson) Moved, Trustee (Hugh Coburn) Seconded to approve the motion.	dy Turner,
		CARRIED
231/2015	THAT Trustee Josie Landry be the Chairperson and Trustees Tom Parker, Hugh and Colleen Mayer be members of the Negotiations Committee.	Coburn,
Trustee (Chris S	Sigurdson) Moved, Trustee (Cindy Turner) Seconded to approve the motion.	CARRIED
SIGNING OFFICERS		
232/2015	THAT the Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson of the Board and the Secretary-Treasu appointed signing officers.	rer be
Trustee (Sandy	Nemeth) Moved, Trustee (Hugh Coburn) Seconded to approve the motion.	CARRIED
MEETING DATES		
233/2015 THAT the regular Board meetings be held on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 7:00 PM.		
Trustee (Tom P	arker) Moved, Trustee (Colleen Mayer) Seconded to approve the motion.	CARRIED
ELECTRONIC A	GENDA DELIVERY	
234/2015		
Trustee (Josie L	andry) Moved, Trustee (Chris Sigurdson) Seconded to approve the motion.	CARRIED
	T OF MEETING	
235/2015	THAT the Inaugural Meeting be adjourned.	
•	Coburn) Moved, Trustee (Colleen Mayer) Seconded to approve the motion.	
		CARRIED

The Inaugural Meeting adjourned at 7:19 PM

Chairperson

Secretary-Treasurer