# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE LOUIS RIEL SCHOOL BOARD Tuesday, September 13, 2016 (7:00 PM)

The Annual Meeting of the Louis Riel School Board was called to order by the Secretary-Treasurer.

## **ROLL CALL**

# UPON THE ROLL BEING CALLED, THE FOLLOWING WERE PRESENT:

# **BOARD MEMBERS:**

Hugh Coburn	Trustee
Louise Johnston	Trustee
Josie Landry	Trustee
Sandy Nemeth	Trustee
Robert Page	Trustee
Tom Parker	Trustee
Dave Richardson	Trustee
Chris Sigurdson	Trustee
Cindy Turner	Trustee

# ALSO IN ATTENDANCE:

Christian Michalik	Acting Superintendent
Brad Fulton	Secretary-Treasurer
Lisa Aitken	Assistant Superintendent
Clarke Hagan	Director of Information Systems
Marna Kenny	Assistant Secretary-Treasurer
Marlene Murray	Assistant Superintendent
Irene Nordheim	Assistant Superintendent
Pat Trottier	<b>Board Recording Secretary</b>

# **REGRETS:**

Duane Brothers Superintendent of Schools

# A. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 7:06 p.m.

The Secretary-Treasurer explained the process for the Annual Meeting.

The Secretary-Treasurer presided until the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson were elected.

# Chairperson of the Board for 2016-2017

Trustee (Sandy Nemeth) and Trustee (Cindy Turner) nominated Trustee Chris Sigurdson. The Secretary-Treasurer called for other nominations. There were none.

Trustee Chris Sigurdson was declared Chairperson of the Board for 2016-2017.

# Vice-Chairperson of the Board for 2016-2017

Trustee (Josie Landry) and Trustee (Tom Parker) nominated Trustee Sandy Nemeth.

The Secretary-Treasurer called for other nominations. There were none.

# Trustee Sandy Nemeth was declared Vice-Chairperson of the Board for 2016-2017.

At this point in the meeting, Trustee Chris Sigurdson presides as Chairperson.

# **PROCEDURAL BY-LAWS**

197/2016 THAT the Procedural By-laws be accepted as presented.

Trustee (Dave Richardson) Moved, Trustee (Robert Page) Seconded to approve the motion.

**CARRIED** 

#### **COMMITTEE STRUCTURE**

198/2016 THAT the following Standing Committees be approved for the 2016-2017 school year.

- a) Community Connections
- b) Finance and Audit
- c) LRSD Foundation
- d) Negotiations

Trustee (Hugh Coburn) Moved, Trustee (Cindy Turner) Seconded to approve the motion.

**CARRIED** 

# STANDING COMMITTEES – ELECTION OF CHAIRPERON AND MEMBER(S)

199/2016 THAT Trustee Louise Johnston be the Chairperson and Trustees Tom Parker and Josie Landry be members of the Community Connections Committee.

Trustee (Cindy Turner) Moved, Trustee (Dave Richardson) Seconded to approve the motion.

**CARRIED** 

200/2016 THAT Trustee Hugh Coburn be the Chairperson and Trustees Cindy Turner and Dave Richardson be members of the LRSD Foundation.

Trustee (Louise Johnston) Moved and Trustee (Tom Parker) Seconded to approve the motion.

CARRIED

201/2016 THAT Trustee Tom Parker be the Chairperson and Trustees Dave Richardson, Cindy Turner, and Robert Page be members of the Finance and Audit Committee.

Trustee (Josie Landry) Moved, Trustee (Hugh Coburn) Seconded to approve the motion.

**CARRIED** 

THAT Trustee Josie Landry be the Chairperson and Trustees Hugh Coburn, Robert Page and Louise Johnston be members of the Negotiations Committee.

Trustee (Dave Richardson) Moved, Trustee (Cindy Turner) Seconded to approve the motion.

**CARRIED** 

#### ADHOC ÉCOLE SAGE CREEK SCHOOL COMMITTEE – ELECTION OF MEMBERS

203/2016 THAT Trustee Hugh Coburn and Trustee Tom Parker be members of the AdHoc École Sage Creek School Committee.

Trustee (Louise Johnston) Moved and Trustee (Dave Richardson) Seconded to approve the motion.

**CARRIED** 

### **SIGNING OFFICERS**

204/2016 THAT the Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson of the Board and the Secretary-Treasurer be appointed signing officers.

Trustee (Cindy Turner) Moved, Trustee (Hugh Coburn) Seconded to approve the motion.

**CARRIED** 

# **MEETING DATES**

205/2016 THAT the regular Board meetings be held on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 7:00 PM.

Trustee (Josie Landry) Moved, Trustee (Tom Parker) Seconded to approve the motion.

**CARRIED** 

#### **ELECTRONIC AGENDA DELIVERY**

THAT the agenda be published electronically at least three days prior to the Regular 206/2016 Board Meeting.

Trustee (Louise Johnston) Moved, Trustee (Hugh Coburn) Seconded to approve the motion.

**CARRIED** 

# ADJOURNMENT OF MEETING

207/2016 THAT the Annual Meeting be adjourned.

Trustee (Tom Parker) Moved, Trustee (Robert Page) Seconded to approve the motion.

**CARRIED** 

The Annual Meeting adjourned at 7:14 PM		
Chairperson	Secretary-Treasurer	