b"18 2019-2020 | ANNUAL REPORT 2019-2020 | ANNUAL REPORT 19A SHOUT OUT TOOUR STUDENTS WITH 40 SCHOOLS AND MORE THAN 15,500 STUDENTS, THERES A LOT TO CELEBRATE INENSEMBLEDISTANCE AWARD-WINNING EDUCATORSTHE LOUIS RIEL SCHOOL DIVISION (LRSD). HERE ARE JUST A FEW OF THE NOTEWORTHY A Grade 7 student at cole Van Belleghem was one ofSix LRSD team members were recognized in the 2019-HIGHLIGHTS AND ACHIEVEMENTS FROM THE 2019-2020 SCHOOL YEAR: the winners of the first-ever national Concours virtuel2020 Manitobas Excellence in Education Awards. hosted by Canadian Parents for French. Students wereCharlene Smallwood, Principal at Nelson McIntyre tasked with sharing their experience during the pandemic.Collegiate, was chosen as the recipient of the Outstanding A FIRST IN LRSD LEADER OF TOMORROWWith the help of her mom, Kaila Kremski put together aSchool Leader Award for her dedication and exemplary fun and creative video highlighting a day in her life andleadership. Matthew Enns, Ashli Hodgert and Kristen Shaylean Skye, a student at Windsor Park Collegiate, wasHayley Turner, a Grade 12 student at Nelson McIntyreshowcasing her skills in French. Unrau, Student Services teachers at Windsor Park the first-ever LRSD recipient of a Manitoba AboriginalCollegiate (NMC), earned two major scholarships; theCollegiate (WPC), received the Outstanding Team Youth Achievement Award (MAYAA). Her name wasBMO Financial Group Leader of Tomorrow ScholarshipCollaboration Award in recognition of their impressive originally put forward for consideration in the Health -through the University of Manitoba; and a $24,000ALUMNUS WINS NOBEL PRIZE collaborative effort while spearheading WPC's Co-Op South category, which is given to an individual planningscholarship from the University of Victoria. Throughout herEducation Program. Patrick Hansen and Matt Patrician, to enroll full-time in a health care field at the post- time at NMC, Turner was an active member in the schoolDr. James Peebles won the 2019 Nobel Prize in Physicsteachers in the Propel program at Nelson McIntyre secondary level. After reviewing her nomination andcommunity, both athletically and academically. for his theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology. TheCollegiate, won the Premier's Award for Excellence in accomplishments, the selection committee awarded herPrinceton University professor emeritus graduated asEducation for their remarkable contributions to student with one of two special 25th anniversary awards. A POETIC VOICE class valedictorian from Glenlawn Collegiate in 1953.learning and engagement.SUCCEEDING ON AND OFFNawal Semir, a Grade 11 student at Glenlawn Collegiate,IN THE KNICK OF TIME MIND OVER MATTER won the national Poetry in Voice/Les voix de la THE COURT posie recitation contest. More than 20,000 studentsFor the past five years, Collge Bliveaus mens hockeyAvery Shtykalo, a student at J.H. Bruns Collegiate, participated and Semir wowed the judges with herteam had been knocked out in the semi-finals of thereceived the Mark Dickof Memorial Award which Alex Krykewich, a Grade 12 student at Dakota Collegiate,recitations of Verso 3.1 by Dionne Brand, I am the People,Winnipeg High School Hockey League playoffs. This year,recognizes high school students for their mental health was named the male winner of the Donovan Gaylethe Mob by Carl Sandburg, and Illegalese: Floodgate Dubthe team was finally triumphant, taking home the topadvocacy. Her humility and desire to cheer on the scholarship, which recognizes local basketball playersby Wayde Compton. prize in the B Division Championships. The win came justunderdog were highlighted as two of many factors that who best represent Gayles attributes of strength,before the city began to shut down due to COVID-19. helped her award application stand out. Avery also resilience, positive attitude and perseverance. Krykewichstarted Mind Over Matter, a daily mindfulness practice at was also named the high schools MVP in the AAAAher school to help her peers stay mentally healthy.Provincial Volleyball Championships. He has committedFULL SWEEPto the University of Winnipegs Wesmen Men's volleyball program as part of the 2020 recruiting class.The Dakota Collegiate Lancers swept this years AAAA Provincial Volleyball Championships, with both the mens and womens teams coming out victorious. The teams were coached by Lancer alumni and previous provincial champs, Ryan Hudson and Sara Harrington."